The Edmonton Frail Scale is being used increasingly in the UK as a validated tool for identifying and assessing frailty in a variety of settings, such as the community and pre-operatively in hospital wards.


The main benefits of the tool are that it is relatively straightforward to use, performs well when compared to assessment by a comprehensive geriatric assessment (CGA), and has high validity, reliability and consistency.

The Edmonton Frail Scale assesses individuals in all the key areas of a person’s life.  There are nine criteria with 11 items.

  1. Cognitive
  2. General health status (2 items)
  3. Functional independence
  4. Social support
  5. Medication use (2 items)
  6. Nutrition
  7. Mood
  8. Continence
  9. Functional performance (the Timed Up and Go Test)

These items include practical tests, self-reported responses and fact-based questions.   Each item is scored 0-1 or 0-2 points and together these sum to a maximum score of 17.  There are five scoring bands associated with different frailty severity.

  • 0-5 = Not Frail
  • 6-7= Vulnerable
  • 8-9= Mild Frailty
  • 10-11= Moderate Frailty
  • 12-17 = Severe Frailty

The Edmonton Frail Scale is available in electronic form as an App. on both Google Play and the itunes App Store.

It is also available below:

Fullscreen Mode